MDOT Associates and Commissioners

John Caldwell
MDOT Northern District Highway Commissioner
Willie Simmons
MDOT Central District Highway Commissioner
Tom King
MDOT Southern District Highway Commissioner

The state of Mississippi vests oversight of its transportation resources and operations in a three-member elected commission representing three geographic areas in the state—Northern, Central and Southern districts. In accordance with state law, the commissioners have the authority and responsibility for the supervision of all modes of transportation in the state dealing with aeronautics, highways, public transit, ports, and rail safety. The membership of the Mississippi Transportation Commission appoints its chairman. The administrative headquarters of the Mississippi Department of Transportation (MDOT) is located at 401 N. West Street in downtown Jackson. The Northern and Southern District Commissioners are located in Tupelo and Hattiesburg, respectively. The Central District Commissioner’s office is located in the administrative headquarters. The Transportation Commission appoints an executive director of MDOT to carry out day-to-day policies and procedures set by the commission. The Transportation Commission meets on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month at its offices in Jackson, Mississippi; and at such sessions, the Commission may hear, continue and determine any and all matters coming before it. The Secretary to the Commission enters the proceeding of the Commission upon its minutes and is custodian of all Minute Books. The Secretary also serves as the Department’s Advocating Highways for Economic Advancement and Development (AHEAD) coordinator.


Appointed by the three-member elected Transportation Commission, the executive director has full and general supervision over administrative and technical matters relating to airport and port development, highway construction and maintenance, weight enforcement, public transit, and rail safety. The executive director administers the policies approved by the Transportation Commission and prepares reports to the Legislature and the Governor. The executive director appoints a chief engineer/deputy executive director and a director for each of the four operating offices reporting directly to the executive director. These offices include Highways, Administrative Services, Intermodal Planning and Enforcement. The Audit, Special Assistant Attorneys General, Information Systems and Public Affairs divisions, also report to the executive director.

Melinda McGrath, P.E.
MDOT Executive Director
Lisa Hancock
MDOT Deputy Executive Director/Administration
Brian Ratliff
Deputy Executive Director/Chief Engineer